Whakatū Wāhine – Women Here and Now

Seeking nominations 

Nominations now open for Whakatū Wāhine – Women Here and Now

2018 is the 125th anniversary of women’s suffrage in Aotearoa New Zealand. To mark this moment, Petone Settlers Museum Te Whare Whakāro o Pito-One is launching Whakatū Wahine – Women Here and Now, a project to celebrate women who are making a real difference to lives in the Hutt Valley.

About the project

Whakatū Wāhine will showcase women’s leadership in the Hutt Valley through the stories of five inspiring leaders. The five women will feature in an exhibition at Petone Settlers Museum in the second half of 2018, and in a series of online video interviews as well as events for the community.

Nominate a woman you know for Whakatū Wāhine

We are seeking nominations from the public for Whakatū Wāhine.
Nominations close 8 June 2018.

Nominees should be:

  • Residents of the Hutt Valley
  • Women who uplift and inspire the community through excellence in their work. This includes voluntary work and paid employment (for example sporting or artistic excellence, business development, creative enterprise, community work or marae support)
  • Aged between 15 and 40.

Nominees must be willing to:

  • Be photographed for a portrait to be displayed at Petone Settlers Museum
  • Be recorded for a short video talking about themselves and the work they do
  • Be included in promotion for the exhibition (e.g. newspaper stories)
  • Participate in an event associated with the exhibition (which will be developed in collaboration with our five women).

To make a nomination

You can nominate through our online form here, or you can download this document: Nomination form Whakatū Wāhine and email to enquiries@petonesettlers.org.nz

Nominees need to be informed of the nomination and agree to being included in the project.

Further information

If you have any questions about Whakatū Wāhine or making a nomination, please contact:

Arawhetu Berdinner
Community Curator, Petone Settlers Museum
04 5706699

Selection panel

We are grateful to the following community leaders who will form our assessment panel to review nominations and select our five participants:

Ripeka Evans (Ngāpuhi, Ngāti Kahu, Te Aupouri, Ngāti Porou)
President, Ruahine branch (Eastbourne and Lower Hutt) of the Māori Women’s Welfare League Te Ropu Wāhine Māori Toko i te Ora, and Strategic Leadership Agent

Karen (Kaz) Yung
Petone Community Board, Hutt City Council

Amber Walters (Kūki ‘Āirani)
Development Adviser, Hutt Minoh House Friendship Trust, and Manager, Victoria International Leadership Programme (VILP)

Barbara Scott
Petone Historical Society, and Student Recruitment Adviser, Massey University

Tui Lewis (Ngāti Manu, Ngāitai, Ngāti Kahungngunu  Ki Heretaunga Tamatea)
Hutt City Councillor, Harbour Ward